High-Protein Oatmeal Banana Pancakes

I love breakfast. No really, I absolutely LOVE breakfast food, especially the ones that can be high in fat, sugar and flour: pancakes, muffins, waffles, french toast; oh yum.

Awhile back, I discovered a recipe for Blueberry Pancakes (original recipe: http://recipes.sparkpeople.com/recipe-detail.asp?recipe=416405) that are high in protein, low in fat and have zero flour. It’s super quick and easy to make, plus you can make it the night before and cook them the next morning for breakfast. I rarely have blueberries on hand in the wintertime (you could use frozen) so when I make mine, I use a banana instead and add some peanut butter in the batter for a little more protein. And then I eat the whole batch.

For my version (no added sugar/sweetener), all you need:

1/2 cup old fashioned oats
3 egg whites or 1/2 cup liquid egg whites
1 banana, broken into smaller pieces
1 Tablespoon of peanut butter
Dash of cinnamon

Throw it all in a blender and process until everything is combined. Let it sit for at least 5 minutes, then cook them up like regular pancakes. You can top them with maple syrup, fresh strawberries slices, apple slices, or even more peanut butter (not included in nutritional information).

Calories: 428
Carbs: 61 grams
Fat: 12 grams
Protein: 25 grams

20130118-133111.jpg

20130118-133103.jpg

I love this recipe. This is a great pre- or post-workout meal. There are so many ways you can make these, and I love experimenting with different fruit and toppings!

Leave a Reply

